Julep Maven Review January 2014

Image

I was really excited when the January window opened up for Julep Maven. For those who don’t know Julep Maven is a nail polish and beauty subscription. Each month 21st- 24th we get to see the 5 box choices that cost $19.99. If you don’t like any of the boxes you can skip the month. If you love the whole collection you can upgrade, they offer various upgrades. I decided to upgrade to the Boudoir Collection which is an additional $35 on top of the $19.99 because I liked all the colors and finishes so much as well as the products.

I have a little story about the delivery because the pictures I have of the box might look a little tattered. So I went to USPS’s website and it said it was delivered however it was not at my door. I was ready to go to all the apartments near mine to find it, but first I was going to check my mailbox. My mailbox is so small so I didn’t think I would find it there (however they have done it before). But of course there it was, its like impossible to get the box out without damaging it. I guess the side where they put the mail in is bigger than the side where I take it out. I had to take a knife and scissors to my box, I wasn’t pleased. I tried to hide it in the photos. I left a note for my mailman. Next time I will have to just contact my post office.

Image

Look at all my pretties! I love them, and many of them have awesome finishes. The boxes are new too, no longer the black boxes with white writing. I really like the new boxes. I do have a stash of boxes I keep and reuse as gifts so I am sad this one is damaged from me prying it out of my mailbox.

Image

 Julep Nail Color in Hannah $14

Julep Nail Color in Abigail $14

Julep Nail Color in  Mae $14

Hannah was one that I was instantly very interested in, I love all shades of green. So I’m looking forward to putting this one on. Abigail is very pretty in person, better than the swatches on juleps blog lets on. I love purples and Mae is a very light shade of purple. It has a satin finish, I just hope this color isn’t too light for my skin so we shall see.

Image

 Julep Nail Color in Margot $14

Julep Nail Color in Mona$14

Julep Nail Color in  Noelle $14

I almost put on Margot because she looked so pretty when I swatched her. I think she will be my next mani for sure. The gold color looks unique compared to other golds I have. Love it. Noelle reminds me of Farrah, but in a different color because it has that same awesome shimmer and has a silk finish. I really like this one, will be wearing it shortly. Mona looks very dark in person, it almost looks black (which I am not crazy about) but I will test this one out.

Image

Julep Nail Color in Annemarie $14

Julep Nail Color in Hope $14

Julep Nail Color in Farrah $14

I love Farrah! I am wearing her right now I had to put her on right away. She has a lovely shimmer and a silky soft finish. ❤ She is very elegant, and so far hasn’t chipped! I always have that issue when I don’t use topcoat. I’m not so crazy about Annemarie, not sure if I will swap her or what. And Hope is a white with a satin finish. I am excited by two of these three.

Image

Julep Vanish Cuticle Softener & Remover $18.00

I was really happy that this months beauty product is nail related! I have never used a similar product so I am excited to try it. I am not one of those people who obsess over their cuticles, but if there is a product to improve mine sure I want to use it.

Image

Julep Ta Da Quick Dry Drops $14.00

I’m glad I held off on purchasing these because I have been tempted over my time as a maven member and now it is included in a box. I love painting my nails, but I have this problem with sitting still after I paint my nails and then I smudge them, or ruin them and I hate that. I used this when I did my nails in Farrah and it worked like a charm. It does have an odd smell, it isn’t bad and it isn’t good. It kind of reminded me of Jennifer Lawrence in American Hustle. She shows off her nail polish topcoat and says it smells like flowers and like garbage together. Not sure if it it smells like garbage but it is kind of a weird smell.

Image

Here is a picture of my nails, I feel like the photo didn’t really pick up on Farrah’s purple tinge but it definitely does have a purple shimmer. Love January’s box! I don’t have enough hands for all these polishes. Gosh I remember thinking when I signed up for Julep I thought I’d be skipping a lot because I thought you only need 10 to 15 nail polish colors. I surely was wrong! Thank you Julep I am a nail polish addict now.

That is what I received this month. Love it? Pretty awesome month to me. I am so excited to play with all my pretties.

COUPON: Use code FREEBOX to get your first box for free! Please my referral link if you join up!

2 thoughts on “Julep Maven Review January 2014

    • Actually that wasn’t in my upgrade, I believe the one that included the Essential Cuticle Oil was the Ultimate Collection. I was so tempted to get that one, but couldn’t justify spending an extra $20 for the Cuticle Oil (which I already have) and the Resort Collection Mini’s. Those mini’s look so adorable and pretty though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

